Home Icon

Home >> Self-Publishing >>  Testimonials

 

Publicious - book publishing testimonials

Real testimonials by real people!

Our authors are our greatest advocates! Read over 80+ testimonials below by authors who have not only enjoyed the Publicious experience but many of whom continue to return to us on multiple books (see list of repeat clients here)

Please feel free to contact Publicious if you would like to
contact any of these authors for verification or you can
contact them directly through their websites.
 



Author Thommo CaulfieldAfter contacting a string of publishing agencies to help publish my first children's picture book, Andy and his team at Publicious stood out from the rest by a mile. From the very first conversation with Andy I sensed I was talking with someone genuine, honest and professional, which made my decision to go with Publicious very easy.

When discussing the publishing process I immediately felt at ease diving into an industry I knew nothing about and Andy was readily available to answer the endless questions and queries of a first-time author. With his expert advice and outstanding service I was able to achieve my goal of publishing Henry Huntsman, my first children's story. Since publication, Andy has helped me launch the book internationally and it is now available through major online retailers including Amazon and Barnes & Noble. I look greatly forward to continuing this relationship with Publicious for years to come. Thank you Andy and Publicious!

Thommo Caulfield



Author Luke McKennaI have found the process of self-publishing with Publicious to be surprisingly simple. My book Thrive: Unlocking the truth about student performance can now be found online at most websites, even though I had no idea how to make that happen. Andy walked me through the process in a very professional way. I have been pleased with the layout and typesetting of the book, as well as Andy's attention to detail. In particular, the work was completed in a timely fashion. I have made two significant rounds of edits to the book, and these have been completed quickly, with a minimal fuss. If you are an author who is looking for a process to turn your manuscript into a book, I would strongly recommend Publicious.

Luke McKenna- Owner- Unleashing Personal Potential
http://www.unleashingpersonalpotential.com.au/
 



Author Doug LimbrickPublicious has been wonderful in the production of my latest and possibly most complex book: Farewell to Old England Forever. The book contained 44 images, which I had carefully sourced to complement the text and hence I felt they were very important to the book. The images were mainly from the nineteenth century and hence some lacked the quality that is available in contemporary images. Thanks to the support and care of the images that I received from Andy the images were enhanced and they look wonderful in the book. Prior to contacting Publicious I had separate negotiations with two mainstream publishers who were interested in the book but both wanted changes including reducing the number of images and only reproducing them in black & white. I thus found Andy's approach refreshing and uncomplicated. I made a number of changes to the text after seeing the first and second galleys, which Publicious was able to accommodate without any difficulty. I also came to Publicious with my own cover design and my editor, which was not a problem. I have found Andy very easy to communicate with and he was always prompt in responding to my emails. There have been no negatives in my dealings with Publicious and I can recommend them without reservation. I am happy to discuss my experience (contact details on my website).

Doug Limbrick.
www.douglimbrick.com
 



Author Edgar William

When a Company, Business or Individual do what they say they can then they are a success, they are unique and unfortunately one of few.

Andy and Publicious are one in the same, the ability to assist and go above and beyond is a comfort especially to one who's new to the world of writing and publishing. If you're in need of a publisher or are not happy with your current publisher Andy comes highly recommended.

From personal experience with publishers that care not for their Authors but for their own gain, I highly recommend you contact Publicious and discuss how they can assist you.

Bill Edgar (Edgar William)
Fraud & Theft Investigator
Author What Makes Me Me?
I am the Lost Boy of TSS...

 


 

Author and Journalist Susan MerrellAs a first time author who hates attending to the peripherals (ie anything that's not writing), I was thrilled to find the services of Andy at Publicious.

Andy took over the whole publishing shebang with the minimum of fuss and the maximum of effect and this he did with patience and much good humour during the writer's 'angst' stage of 'just one more edit.'

I cannot recommend his services more highly.  Unlike many 'publishers' I contacted, his services were transparent and fairly priced no hidden traps for the uninitiated which was what I was.

Thank you Andy. Don't go anywhere, next one coming up.

Dr Susan Merrell political commentator/journalist and author of Redeeming Moti
 


 

Author Ray Cross and Publicious CEO Andy McDermott

 

Early in this publication I eluded to the fact that I had concerns about my ability to get this book published if and when we reached that stage. Getting towards the end of the writing stage I was lucky enough to be put in touch with Andy McDermott from Publicious P/L at Currumbin on the Gold Coast. Andy, who is vastly experienced in publishing, was good enough to guide me through the final writing stages and has been tremendously helpful in the preparation of the manuscript for final publication. He is very professional in his role and I couldn't have 'jumped the final hurdle' without his expertise.

Ray Cross 
Author of Where Do We Start - Ladies and Gentlemen

 

 

 


 

Author Maria Tinschert and Publicious CEO Andy McDermott

 

 

Dear Andy, just a short note to once again say thank you for the beautiful way you presented by book and how you have helped me so much to have a book out there in its true form and looking so good with such expertise. How can I lose?

Maria Tinschert
Author of Daughter of the Razor

 

 

 


 

Author and businessman Marcel Wilson

After finally completing Frontier Mindset, the book that I had wanted to write for years, I felt that a milestone had been achieved. In truth, I was only part-way to achieving my book publishing goal. What remained was to navigate the self-publishing process - a topic I knew very little about. For this reason, I was glad to come across Publicious and meet Andy. Andy guided me through the book publishing process and answered many of my questions. Throughout the project, Andy kept me on track and was patient and fair - even after I made some novice errors. In the end, I am extremely pleased with the result. The quality of the book's layout, typesetting and printing exceeded my expectations. Even my readers have commented on the great quality of the book. I have no hesitation in recommending Andy at Publicious to any writer wanting to turn their book into reality. I look forward to Publicious assisting me with my next book!

Marcel Wilson
Businessman and author of Frontier Mindset

 




The Publicious self-publishing experience was excellent from start to finish. My husband needed to publish a self-help book to distribute during his lectures. My own book was published with Routledge in London, and I have to say that Andy's attention to detail, professionalism and excellent cover designs for my husband's book exceeded my expectations.

The whole process was seamless and very efficient. We are perfectionists, so I'm not easy to satisfy, but nothing was ever too much trouble for Andy. Andy worked tirelessly towards our deadline, even giving up a Saturday. I highly recommend his services.

Dr Caroline Heim PhD

 



Publicious testimonial by Helen Nichols

Thank you to Andy and his team at Publicious. They did an amazing job to get a special surprise ready within two weeks - printed, published and delivered.

My daughter (in Denmark) arranged her past Grandad's life story into a book as a surprise for her Dad for Christmas. Andy and his team pulled it all together in no time at all, printed and delivered ready for our flight to Denmark to celebrate Christmas together as a family.

The look on my husbands face when he opened the gift from our daughter was golden - the perfect gift. Thank you guys, it was fantastic to see it in print.

 


 

Actor, artist and author Jonathan Elsom

My collection of short stories was published by Publicious in August 2014. With encouragement from Andy from Publicious and a few writer friends, I set about looking for various outlets here in Sydney and elsewhere to promote and hopefully sell the book.

Overseas engagements prevented me from launching the book until November 2014, when I held a successful book launch here in Sydney. Many copies were sold, I'm pleased to say. Abbey's also stocked the book for a time, and with a number of the tales set in Venice and Florence, I even arranged for a Venetian bookseller to stock it!

The business of finding the best Self-publishing house which I could trust to bring out the book to my satisfaction was a demanding one, but I knew the moment I discussed my book with Andy, that I had found the publisher I had been searching for, and I needed to look no further. The search for the right publisher was a lengthy one, but it is essential you begin with a creative and trustworthy relationship. Andy and I didn't meet 'til long after the book was published, as he is QLD based, and I live in Sydney, but the final results far exceeded my expectations.

BBC and ABCTV actor, artist and author of Sinking Violet
http://jonathanelsom.com/

 


 

I have commended Andy and the team at Publicious to a couple of good friends of mine, and I commend them to you too. Well, I assume there is a vast team of hard working dedicated staff at Publicious, as Andy and the team helped me overcome many of the final hurdles and helped bring this book from the etheric into reality.

My name is Chris Freeman, and I am the author of Overcoming Obesity. Overcoming Obesity is my first book.

Publicious helped me with cover design ideas being clever and creative with the bits and pieces given them. I was able to call and talk to Andy where I was able to develop my understanding of the process and make informed decisions while I continued this creative journey. They sent me material to proof and we were able to communicate easily about the book before it went to the printers. They were able to get the whole document to a place where it could be sent to the printer, and they even did that for me.

I am really grateful to be able to have given them my completed manuscript where they helped me bring the slab of A4 pages into a physical, and may I say, good looking final product. I believe they helped me create a great platform to package and share my work.

Publicious were effective, efficient, and affordable. Andy is the guy to go to if publishing a book is a big tick on your 'Bucket List'.

Christopher J. Freeman B.HSc. (Hons.), LLB.

 

Kieran Brophy, author of Did Roy Rpyce make a Healthy choice?



Being new to the writing game I was looking for a self-publisher who could answer my questions clearly and provide me with one-on-one support to guide me from 'script' to 'shelf'.  Andy and his team at Publicious were able to step me through the process quickly and ensured I walked away with both a print and ebook that I can be proud of.

Being a children's book publication I was quite particular about illustration and text layout and Andy was able to cater for my somewhat pedantic requests.  I also appreciated his responsiveness and availability to provide me with clarification about anything that I flagged.

I have been very happy with my "Publicious" experience and hope it is the first of many.  Thanks Andy!

Kieran Brophy - author of Did Roy Royce make a Healthy Choice? (Nutrition Australia) http://royroyce.com.au/ 


 

Author Andrew Patterson

As a first-time author choosing the selfpublishing path, there were many unknowns and a lot of lessons to be learned.  Obviously the actual writing, the hardest part, was something only I could do.  However, there is so much more to getting from that draft manuscript to holding a published book in your hands.  Some bits I was happy to spend the time learning myself, other bits I wanted professional help with.  And that is when I found Publicious. 

Well, now I am holding the book in my hands, as well as seeing it available worldwide in both print and digital format. I can't speak highly enough of Andy McDermott and his team at Publicious.  From the word go, with detailed instructional material, through the process, with all my questions promptly and fully answered, to the fantastic end product, the experience was as smooth as silk and the team was always responsive to my needs.  When you're a paying customer, you can't ask for more.

I would absolutely recommend Publicious to any writer wanting to pursue the self-publishing path.  For my next book, I'll be coming back to Publicious.

Andrew Patterson - author of Harry's World - www.abpatterson.com.au

 


 

Author Jane EalesIn contrast to the writing, I found the prospect of publishing my book extraordinarily daunting. The publishing process seemed so complex, and I was anxious and acutely aware of my lack of knowledge, and of not knowing what I did not know.  And so when Andy McDermott at Publicious was recommended to me by people very experienced in the publishing industry I took notice. 

Their advice was spot on. Andy is professional, a pleasure to work with, offers a very cost effective service and smooths a very complicated process.  His website is a mine of information, and I can wholeheartedly endorse the article about the interview with Andy for the Sydney Writers Festival. 

When I compared a publishing contract offered to a budding author just recently, it confirmed for me that self-publishing my book was the right decision. Self-publishing allows even a first time author to retain one's independence, and to be in control at every stage of the process. Yes, self-publishing still carries a stigma, bookshops are initially reticent to stock a book by an unknown author, and it is very hard to get one's book reviewed by major news publications and to be considered by book festivals and professional associations. But I persisted, and after just one positive local newspaper article, I was offered interviews and author talks by radio, television, a magazine, local newspapers, libraries and local community groups. 

It was a real honour, and further confirmation that self-publishing was the right choice when in May 2015 Secrets, Spies and Spotted Dogs was a winner in the autobiographical/biography category of the 2015 Next Generation Indie Book Award Program, the largest not-for-profit book award program open to independently published authors worldwide.  Not many traditionally published books win awards.  So new authors, do remember after your book is published to promptly submit your book for awards.

My husband and I set up our own publishing company, Middle Harbour Press Pty Ltd, and published both our books, Secrets Spies and Spotted Dogs by Jane Eales, and The Compassionate Englishwoman by Robert Eales. He joins me in wholeheartedly recommending the publishing services offered by Publicious. 

Thank you Andy for all you did for us in our publishing journey.

Jane Eales - author of Secrets, Spies and Spotted Dogs and gold medal winner at the 2015 Next Generation Indie Book Awards NY.
 


 

Dr Hisham Abdalla author of $D Leadership

 

"I am very grateful and honoured to have found Andy at the start of my journey in self publishing. As a first time author, there was SO MUCH to learn, figure out and understand. I know that without the help and support of the Publicious team, I would not have achieved my dream. I contacted a few places last year regarding self-publishing, but I connected only with Andy, and that's why I chose to engage his services. It turned out to be an exceptional choice, pat myself on the back for that :-)

Andy is not just great at what he does and delivers exactly what he promises on time; he goes beyond that as a person, engages with his clients emotionally and serves as a friend. That's what I call serving in excellence. I know for a fact that this is where I am returning to with my next book. Thank you Andy, I've recommended you to many friends already"

Dr Hisham Abdalla, #1 international Bestselling Author of 4D Leadership - http://www.4dleadership.com/

 


 


A Test of Will by Warren Mcdonald

"Andy made the whole process of self publishing so simple, I wouldn't for a second think about doing it again without his help. You shouldn't either.

Helping you change the way you see the world...
www.warren-macdonald.com"

Join the Revolution!
http://warren-macdonald.com/

 

 


 

Allan Wendt, author of Back to Rescue EarthFrustrated and disappointed with my previous publisher on the lack of communication and person-to-person

contact and regular updates on the status of my two books, my wife Rohana and I went searching for someone who could help us publish my third book, the last instalment of my fiction novels 'The Scarab Bracelet Trilogy'. My inquires led me to Andy of Publicious, whom we met some years ago at a writers luncheon. We distinctly remembered Andy's cheerful personality and his genuine enthusiasm in helping fellow authors promote their works and to get them published without pushing his own brand. The final decider to use Andy's services was when he told us that I would have my own ISBN numbers for my books, unlike my previous publisher who owns the ISBN, which means now I will have full control of any sales. Since working with Publicious, we have only praise for his sincerity and professionalism but most of all Andy's dependability to personally answer our questions and to follow up on our inquires. If you are looking for a publisher to assist in your self-publishing venture or to publish your book, you need not look any further than Publicious.

Allan Wendt - author of Back To Rescue Earth.
 


Evelyn Douglas, author of Free to Fly


My manuscript was complete. I had poured out my story. Where was the publisher who would not only print, but also distribute and market my precious creation? It was one thing to have created the story, but publishing, distributing and marketing are different skill sets. I was exhausted by the creative effort and beset by life in general. I also needed a skilled editor to review the material and make constructive comments and suggestions.
 
The manuscript matured in the filing cabinet for three years. I approached a number of different publishers with no success. One publisher encouraged authors to self-publish using their self-publishing division. If they like the result, they will then promote the book.  That did not work for me either.  Besides, they were overseas.

Publicious was referred to me by Julie Lewin http://julielewin.com who has herself published a number of books. It has been the perfect answer for me.  Publicious is Local. I like being able to speak to a real person.  Andy has been friendly and helpful and PATIENT. I felt like there was someone holding my hand as I navigated this alien world of publishing.  Hey Presto, "Free to Fly" was published, made available on the internet and finally 50 printed copies arrived at my door.  It is very exciting to see my creative effort professionally presented. 

My research established that no-one else is going to do publicity for a first-time author without a 'NAME'. To enhance my latent marketing skills, I completed a Media and Marketing course with Tanya Targett.  http://media-money-profile.com  The results of this training are yet to bear fruit.
 
Evelyn Douglas - author of Free to Fly.
 
 

 

Author Fay Simmonds-Peters

'After devoting two years to writing my manuscript, erroneously, publishing and printing were my last considerations. By the time I decided to engage with Lightning Source I had committed every 'faux pas' that publishers/printers warn you about.  My plea for help to LS put me in touch with Andy McDermott of Publicious.  A weight was immediately lifted off my shoulders because, being an author himself, Andy already understood all that and was so accommodating and engaging.  We quickly established a great working relationship and he helped me plot my way through the maze which is that alien and mysterious world. 

Artistic creation is a very personal expression of one's self and subject and so when I engaged Andy to also design the cover for my book I was a little hesitant to give away that licence, but in true Andy fashion, he managed to capture the essence of my story.  

Non-fiction is a difficult genre, there are many definite protocols to be observed and appreciated. With over two hundred images, and almost as many bibliography references, attention to detail and an appreciation of the importance of these facts was paramount in satisfying all the copyright owners. And, on this front Andy and his team came up trumps again.

Andy, your guidance and personal engagement with my project have certainly made me feel that you cared about the end result, and the final product is something I am personally proud of, and we did it together.  I acknowledge your invaluable contribution and am happy to express my grateful thanks for a job extremely well done.

Fay Simmonds-Peters
'Sarah: The Accidental Historian'
www.sarahtheaccidentalhistorian.com

 


Donna Redman author of Awakening Sebastian


The publication of my debut novel Awakening Sebastian was the culmination of a nine-year journey of research and composition. As any author will tell you, the publication of their work is a massive deal certainly not something taken lightly. It was with great confidence that I entrusted Andy and the team from Publicious to turn my manuscript into a shmick looking novel. I certainly wasn't disappointed! The process was made stress free with great support, professionalism and step-by-step guidance. Andy had a knack for answering my questions quickly and clearly, enabling me to navigate the crazy world of publishing with ease. The overall look and quality of the finished product is incredible. It's a text that I'm proud to have my name on.

Thanks Andy for your support and guidance! Looking forward to our next collaboration.

Donna Redman author of Awakening Sebastian
www.awakeningsebastian.com/
 


Kaeleb Appleby author of Chaos of Choice

 

 

"Andy and his team at Publicious were an invaluable aid for me in publishing my first novel Chaos of Choice. I was very novice in the ways of publishing when I contacted Andy, but he helped me through the process and happily answered all my questions and concerns. I did have a very specific idea as to how I wanted my book to look and its format and Andy was able to put that into a reality for me.

I could not be more happy with the way my books turned out, and I will definitely be getting in touch with Publicious again when I am ready to publish my next novel."

Kaeleb Appleby author of Chaos of Choice



 


Author Francesca Sutters book launch

'When I decided to self-publish my debut novel, Returning, I researched a few different ways to go about it. Over the course of a few months, I looked at many options and kept coming back to the Publicious offering. Finally, I took the plunge to self-publish with Publicious and I am so glad I did. Andy and his team did a very professional job. Andy exceeded my expectations with his prompt responses and fast turnaround times in converting my manuscript into a novel and making it available to the world at large. Laura's talent was obvious from the moment I set eyes on the cover, and it is all the more remarkable in the knowledge that she designed it with very little guidance from me.

Their service and communication was excellent, taking the difficulty out of quite a daunting task. Thanks, Publicious.'

Francesca Sutters author of Returning

 


 

OMG by Tony Marino

First of all a big thank you to Andy and the Publicious team. Going through the process of getting my book to a global audience is quite a major and exciting accomplishment, but also one that has a lot of moving parts. Andy and the team clearly and concisely outlined a to do list and the kept me on task and updated at each stage of the process. Yes, in some parts it was a hand-holding exercise in navigating the publishing world and was interspersed with some good critique along the way. One More Goddess is now live; one million downloads here we come, best seller of course is a given 

I have three more books to complete and publish this year. Every single one of them will go to Publicious to handle. Why? They are just that good.

Tony Marino author of OMG

 


 

Author Keith Tutor

"Like many first time authors, creating a story can easily become an all engrossing world where everything outside of the writing naturally looks after itself .  As we quickly learnt, publishing is another world, and as I have noticed for many,it can be a daunting one to comprehend but also navigate.

We have been fortunate on our journey because we have been willing to listen, learn and have thus far, avoided making impulsive decisions thanks to doing our homework and finding the right persons to guide us. We have found ourselves with some wonderful people who are highly experienced in their respective fields as well as being passionate, approachable and transparent.

Recently,we were recommended to Publicious and its director Andy McDermott by a globally respected publishing and distribution organisation to look after our typesetting. Yet again, we find ourselves with good fortune.

Andy is very approachable, always helpful, he knows what he is talking about and he's as genuine a bloke I have come across on our publishing journey thus far. Publicious offers a quality service no doubt. However, to my delight its founder offers a wealth of knowledge on matters of publishing and self publishing to 'first timers' like us as a result of his personal experiences when starting out on his own journey as an author.

In my opinion,Andy's knowledge and willingness to guide us when requested has been 'invaluable' and speaking frankly, an absolute relief.

We look forward to continuing our association with Andy and Publicious in the not to distant future.''

Keith Tutor co-author of Jade and the Deva

 


 

Author Ben West

"What is more daunting than self-publishing your first book?

Leaving your wife to finalise the formatting and conversion of your 'baby' while you climb a Himalayan Mountain for six weeks!

Andy from Publicious was incredibly patient, caring and thorough with the formatting of my book in my absence. My being away meant that Andy not only had to liase with my wife about formatting questions, but he also had to upload and sort out all of my metadata, the ISBN and that techy stuff.

Andy carried out all of the work efficiently, delivering my manuscript on time (and on budget) ready for Kindle, Print and ePub.
I love the final product and could not be happier with the look of my finished book.

Thank you Andy and the Publicious team for taking care of my baby in my absence."

Ben West author of The Red Rucksack

 


 

Alana Vaney, author of Broken Time

 

The process of self publishing was so empowering. I'd been to a workshop which highlighted all the things that could go wrong so I am happy to say that none of those horrors occurred! Andy was so consultative and helpful as well as patient.

My books have arrived and they look great so I would advise anyone who just can't deal with the rejections and  non acknowledgement of publishing houses, to simply pick themselves up, believe in their work and go to Publicious!


Alana Vaney, author of Broken Time

 

 

 


 

Writing a book is the easy part. Publishing it, a different matter. I heard what happens in the publishing business from different authors; a repetitive story of being taken advantage of. So I knew I had to be careful when publishing my second book. One day, in absolute frustration, thinking there must be an easier way, I put 'self publishing made easy' into the search engine and found Publicious listed there. The testimonials I read convinced me that I had found the best way to publish my book and best of all, based on the Gold Coast. The result has been fantastic.

Andy McDermott and his team have made the publishing of my book 'Your Body Wears Your Beliefs' effortless and I am delighted with the result. His team set a very high standard in typesetting, cover deeign and printing. I have another book ready to go.  My sincere thanks to Andy and his very professional team.

Nola Ann Lean -  author of Your Body Wears Your Beliefs.

Wisdom in the Soul by Nola Ann Dean

 

 

 

 

 

We're proud to say since writng this testimonial, Nola Ann has also recently published three more books with the assistance of Publicious: Ask To Know, Looking Through Your Life's Kaleidoscope, and Wisdom in the Soul.

 


Tasmantic Man by Vince Kean

Atmosterics by Vince Kean

For twenty years I struggled to give life to a story which kept buzzing around in my head. When it was done I was lost. Publishers didn't seem to want it and I am not a marketing guru, just a writer who would like to leave behind some tangible evidence of what I have done. Then I came across Publicious and found myself on a magic carpet ride. Those daunting problems all became surmountable and suddenly, magically, I had a copy of my book in my hands. My only regret is that I didn't find Publicious years ago.

Vince Kean author of Atmosterics and Tasmantic Man

 

We're proud to say that since writing this testiminial Vince has also published his second novel, Tasmantic Man, with our assistance.

 


 

Author Dr Karen Knight-Mudie

"I thank Andy McDermott and his team at Publicious for their professional approach to the publication of my stories for young and old, Yarns From Yandilla. I am very grateful for the expert advice and quick responses I received throughout the complex process of transferring words on paper into real book form and thence into virtual reality as an eBook. At all times Andy was available and attentive w

ith friendly,  informative support so without hesitation, I recommend A

ndy and his team at Publicious to anyone wishing to publish without excessive cost or hassle."

Dr Karen Mudie-Knight - Yarns from Yandilla

 


 

"Don't waste your time looking for another publisher because in my opinion you won't find anyone better than Andy. He not only knows what he's talking about but his attention to detail, personalised service and genuine care for your end product is second to none. So stop reading this testimonial, get back to finishing your manuscript and let Andy and the team at Publicous take care of the rest for you! By the way, Andy didn't pay me to write this testimonial I paid him!! Need any more convincing?

Declan Chase author of 'The Road Trip: How one day's adventure changed my outlook on life forever'

 

 


 

Author Semple

"I recently came in contact with Publicious through the Editor of my book who referred to the great job they do.

I contacted Andy on a Friday late afternoon and still he was answering his phone!

I could not express the relief I felt when talking with Andy as I explained where I was at with the project of the book and exactly what I needed.
Andy and his company were able to accommodate my needs and went over and above to set it all up and get me through the finish line.

I will recommend Publicious and the lovely Andy when you are going through the process of self publishing.

Thank you Andy! Can't wait to share the success and the next project."

Maria Semple author of Everyday Stories of 10 Remarkable Women

 


 

 

Author and photographer Mark Hallinan

"From the author of Jenolan Caves- The Complete Guide.

Publicious was instrumental in bringing this 280 page full colour hardback book to fruition. The resulting text layout is easy on the eye with well balanced placement of the copious illustrations, maps, and photos. The printed book has been variously described as 'stunning' and 'very handsome', in no small part due to Andy's expert handiwork.

Andy patiently answered my first-time publisher questions and made numerous valuable suggestions before we committed to layout. This set expectations on both sides so that there were no surprises during layout and as a result the whole process flowed easily. The book printer encountered no problems with the layout files, further streamlining the printing and shipping stage.

All in all, I'm very pleased with the relationship with Publicious, but most of all, delighted with the finished product.

The book is now being rolled out, starting at the Caves themselves. It even has its own website at jenolancavesbook.com.au"

Mark Hallinan Brisbane

 




"TO ANYONE WHO HAS EVER WRITTEN A BOOK AND WANTED IT PUBLISHED!

 

Author Robert Ennever

As a complete novice entering the bewildering world of self-publishing, I had not the vaguest idea of the problems which would be involved.

It was by the merest chance that a friend who had attended the Byron Bay Writers' Festival mentioned to me that she had met a most helpful man by the name of Andy McDermott, the head of Publicious Pty. Ltd.

From my first contact with Andy, through the long, and to me often mysterious, process of publishing five books, he has been, not only a mine of information and an invaluable facilitator, but also a kind and patient mentor who has guided me along every step of the way. I would like to think I could now call him a friend.

So Andy, with my sincere thanks and deepest gratitude for everything you have done. Warmest regards, Robert Ennever."

To date Rob has now published 7 books with Publicious


 

The Noosa Wroters"A joint effort to produce a book of short stories by a group of writers, can, if not handled properly, turn out to be the proverbial camel that is a horse designed by committee! But fear not Publicious came on to the scene, and Andy waved his magic wand.                                                                                                

Noosa Writers' other guises and publications had previously been laboriously self-set, paginated, formatted, and laid out with little or no professional expertise and input. What a difference then, to have that chore whisked away from us, and have our work professionally designed and presented so beautifully, in a style that we could never have conceived. As the buzz-word says, that is definitely the way to go.

Andy McDermott's patience and understanding during the final proof-read was remarkable and so was his attention to detail. The whole publishing process was made so easy for us, enabling us to get on with post-publication aspects of the finished book. We'll never try to do it all ourselves again!

Thanks a ton, Andy there'll be another manuscript on its way to you before you can say 'Blue Pelican'."

Rebecca S Mason, Noosa Writers www.noosawriters.com

To date Noosa Writers has published 2 books with Publicious


 

Author Darren Finkelstein


"As a self-published author who's paperback; Honey, let's buy a BOAT! is now starting to gain some traction, my next step was to explore and uncover the opportunities that the eBook and Print-On-Demand worlds could offer.

My research pointed me to Publicious. Andy McDermott helped me navigate through the cloudy world of eBooks and POD. He held my hand as we demystifying the technical jargon and complicated process to work out exactly where my title was to fit in.

As result, I'm thrilled to say my book is now available via iTunes, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and The Book Depository, to name but a few. The Kindle version is also attracting much interest.

Andy held my hand through the whole process of file conversion, set-up and the distribution process.

I would gladly recommend Andy and his team at Publicious to anyone who needs assistance in this area."

Safe Boating Always.
Darren Finkelstein author: Honey, let's buy a BOAT!
Dealer Principal St Kilda Boat Sales
http://www.letsbuyaboat.com.au/

 


 

Author Danny McAllister

 

"I have no hesitations recommending Publicious when looking for a publisher, especially if you are keeping to a budget. Andy was responsive to any requests and his experience and knowledge were extremely helpful.

Publishing your first book is daunting but with Andy's knowledge and practical approach he made the process a simple and enjoyable experience.

I love the fact that you have package options to choose from which are then tailored to suit your needs.

Publicious is a user friendly company who take the stress out of publishing, they're not only easy to work with but are professional, efficient and have produced a product in which I'm very proud of.

It's been a pleasure working with Publicious, I love the fact that you have made my dream come true, stress free - I'm now officially an Author.

Andy you're a champ!!!

Keep up the good work."

Danny McAllister - McAllister Fitness Author of Frustration Point

 


 

Author Violet Valentine

"My book is not a memoir, a biography or a text book, it is a how-to survival guide for women who live their life with wheelchairs, sharing my life experience and 14 years of knowledge, tips, tools and what I have learnt with them and empowering them to create a life that they truly love.  Deciding to write the book and finishing each chapter was by far, the easiest and least terrifying part of the process.

So when the book was ready for printing, I had to decide if I was going to go with a Publisher or publish it myself.  I decided to research my options and narrow it down to self-publishing due to the book's narrow demographic.  Next, I did my research to ensure I would be making the best choice, in terms of self-publishing companies for my book, and for myself.  Publicious stood out and after speaking with Andy a number of times about questions and the process, I felt very confident that he was the best choice for me.  Publicious had the big-company expertise without the big-company arrogance.

And now, after I have gone through the publishing process with Publicious and Andy, I am more than happy with my choice!  Andy has the personal experience of self-publishing, his knowledge is current, he knows what needs to be done legally and will gladly share all of wealth of knowledge and experience with you to make self-publishing a pleasant and easy experience!

The publishing of my book took some time because of my fear and trepidation, and a few other things, but Andy just supported me at the pace I was comfortable with.  He did not pressure or rush me at any stage and for that I am also grateful.  I have no doubt that should I wish to write another book, I would definitely be choosing to go with Publicious again!  And so should you."

"Sitting Pretty for chicks in chairs", Violet Valentine.

 


 

Author Denis Bartell

"I was a total novice.  My first book was a joy to finish, but then came the crushing reality of trying to engage agents and publishers. I likened it to dealing with royalty just one step below God.  

Frustration pushed me to look at self publishing, and while it all seemed intimidating and overwhelming at first, I soon realized that I'd opened the door to the modern era. The world market was there for my taking for as long as I wanted to work it not a limited run if I was lucky, and then oblivion. However, I urgently needed some extra help someone to guide my ship.  That's when I found Publicious and Captain Andy.

What a wonderful, worry-free and rewarding experience this has been. I cannot recommend Andy highly enough.  I must have driven him mad with phone calls and emails, but not once was he too busy to help.  He was unfailing in his encouragement and interest in me and my project.  In fact, his knowledge and advice have proven invaluable and I now have, through his substantial expertise, a finished product that I am proud of and world wide contacts to make my venture a success.

Thank you Andy.  I am indebted to you.

Anyone who is thinking of self publishing should not go past Andy McDermott."

Denis Bartell OAM
(Adventurer, Historian, Author of Desert Walker
www.desertwalker.com.au

 


 

Clayton Graham author of milijin

 

As a debut author I was faced with the task of finding a company to guide me along the Self Publishing path. Thankfully I chose the right people. Andy and the Publicious team were extremely helpful, always quick to respond to my many questions and patient with my lack of knowledge in the publishing field.

The formatting, cover design and general presentation of the finished article were of a very high standard. I would certainly use them again and heartily recommend them to other writers.

Clayton Graham author of milijin

 

 

 


 

The Labour Of My Hands by Bill GrahamThe Human Face of God by Bill GrahamJust two days ago I received, hot off the press, fifty copies of my novel, The Labour Of My Hands. It is my first novel and my first experience of publishing. Thank you Publicious for the excellent guidance and service you have provided. The whole process was so thoroughly professional, and easily accessible for me, a beginner.

During the three years I spent writing the novel I did extensive research comparing the various options for publishing and found the scene very confusing. I attended a seminar conducted by an author who had only recently published his first novel and he warmly recommended Publicious. I took his advice and am very satisfied with the results and with the reasonable price of the work. I will certainly be using Publicious in the ongoing publishing and distribution process of this novel and of any future writing that I may undertake.

Bill Graham. Author of The Labour Of My Hands.

Since writing this testimonial Bill has just published his second book The Human Face of God with the assistance of Publicious.

 


 

 

Author Robyn Arrowsmith

"Self-publishing has been a stiff learning curve for me, but Publicious has made it a very pleasant experience. Andy's calm, friendly and professional manner never changed, despite the timeline I was aiming for and some 'headaches' I sent his way. Consistently patient and unruffled, Andy took the worry from my shoulders. I am most appreciative of your guidance and all your hard work. I couldn't be happier with the end product which looks excellent. The cover design is just what I had in mind and I hope it will be a success in the marketplace.

I will certainly use your author services should I venture down this path again. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Publicious who made my journey an enjoyable one!"

Robyn Arowsmith - Author of All The Way To The USA

 


Wild Yams by Jindie Jackson
I would recommend Andy from Publicious, because I always received prompt, personal service from Andy. As this was my first novel
 
I was particularly grateful for the assistance which was afforded to me. The formatting by  Publicious, gave my novel the appropriate sense of drama at the beginning of each chapter. The service I received from Andy contributed to a beautiful professional finish to my novel, so therefore I would definitely  use the services of Publicious in the future.

Jindie Jackson author of Wild Yams

 


The Kids from the Buildings by Joy Loggie


When I first approached Publicious to print off some "Kids" for nieces and nephews in the U.K. I had reached a stage where I was content to self-publish an occasional writing on Amazon (usually in dire need of copy-editing) and more carefully written pieces that were published by kindly editors in various magazines and anthologies and now your Publicious demons have stirred an arthritic old lady in her mid-eighties with mobility problems out of her comfortable vegetation!!!

The "Kids" was my first printed book and I am now a third of the way through copy-editing a clutch of short stories for an anthology of crime and mayhem in Queensland (hopefully to be printed by Publicious with a cover by Laura). 

Joy Loggie author of The Kids from the Buildings

We're proud to say since writing this testimonial Joy has published four more books with the assistance of Publicious: An Omnibus of Qld Crime and Mayhem, Killing Gabba Maggie, Devil in the Bay and Lake Wunyami.


Author Kurt Forrer
"It was 22 years ago when I self-published my first book on dreams. I left the editing to the typist who also got the MS print-ready. Part of the deal was that I had to have 1000 books printed. So apart from writing the book and then distributing it I had little more to do. But alas, I still got half of my books under the house mainly because I found it so against my grain to chase up bookshops and other outlets.

How different things are now! When I looked around last year for someone to assist me in transforming my MS into a book, I began my search on the Internet. I found several firms that offered the appropriate help, but they all charged too much for my budget. In fact, in some cases it seemed to me that some of these firms were out to get as much out of an author as possible. One of them in particular pursued me with almost daily offers, ringing me on the mobile at all times of the day. Needless to say that put me off this firm more and more, especially when they said they could make a best seller out of my MS. Their offers steadily rose from the humdrum edition to Gold and Platinum. The latter was priced well over $20,000.

You can imagine that when I came across Publicious who offered to do the basic job for a mere $2,500 I jumped at it. But I took on their help not only because the price was so affordable, but also because of their testimonials, which sounded utterly genuine and promised a great working relationship and a brilliant end result. And, what for me and any self-publisher must be inestimably good news is the fact that the book would be on line even before the 50 printed copies would be able to reach my home.

In this respect it was quite funny that a young man in India sent me a Facebook message, telling me that my book was available at Amazon/Kindle long before I knew it myself. He even posted it on Facebook so I could have a look for myself and read the lengthy product description.

I am tickled pink with the book and its distribution potential and I now look back with great fondness to the easy, most helpful and attentive working relationship with Publicious."

Kurt Forrer Author of "Tomorrow in your Dreams" 

 


 

Authors Bill and Mike Kenny"Our manuscript had received glowing feedback from several well-known publishing houses but in spite of their interest we were disappointed that they did not follow through with an offer of publication. We investigated the dauntingly complicated world of self-publishing, unsure as to our next step. There were many companies advertising, however, they represented a potential minefield on closer inspection. That is where fate stepped in and we had the luck to get a personal referral to Andy McDermott and Publicious from an existing author. She highly endorsed Andy for his integrity and professional ability to expedite the publishing of our novel.

The learning curve for us as first time novelists was a steep one. Andy was very giving of his time and we were able to rely on his personal and swift response all the way through the process until the book was finally in paperback and on the eBook listings. We were very happy with the smoothness of the operation under Andy's guidance. It was no trouble for him to answer our questions and his willingness to give any extra assistance needed was so much appreciated. Andy worked with us to sort out any problems in the drafts and was ever ready to give advice on particular points that we might have otherwise missed. He ensured that we were completely happy with the cover design before proceeding. This was done step by step allowing us time and opportunity to assess the appeal of the artwork.

"The Deep Channel" has made it on to the stands at a very reasonable cost and we wish to thank Andy and Publicious for the opportunity to take our hard work from the manuscript stage to full publication. We would highly recommend Publicious to any author wishing to follow the self-publishing pathway and requiring a facilitator to navigate the procedures necessary."

Authors BJ and Mike Kenny - Authors of The Deep Channel

 


 

Dr PA McGavin

"I have published a lot over my life (previously a Professor), but I decided to write a book that did not quite fit the usual categories of this or that market, and so I decided on recommendation to "go Publicious".

It was a pleasant, no-fuss experience, but what I drew upon in terms of cover design and marketing was first-rate, smooth, and professional.

I have no hesitation in recommending Publicious to authors from quite different backgrounds with different literary outputs, and with an assurance that Andy will respond accordingly to build a smooth path to quality publication."

Father P A McGavin, PhD (Melb.)
author of MANLY MATURITY:
psychological approaches to personal development

 


 

Author John Thompson-Grey

"February 19, 2012 was the 70th anniversary of the bombing of Darwin, the first attack on the Australian homeland by an enemy at war. In October 2011, Pen and Sword Books said I had a 'goer', they could not publish for 6 months and were reluctant to launch in the UK market. They referred me to 'Publico' in NSW.

On November 17, 2011 President Barack Obama and Prime Minister Julia Gillard made their historic visit to Darwin. Mr Obama said that Darwin was Australia's Pearl Harbor and announced that US marines would be stationed in the Northern Territory. Ms Gillard foreshadowed that February 19th would be proclaimed in the national calendar as Bombing of Darwin Day. The need to print became urgent.

I asked media personality Ray Weeks about 'Publico'. He thought I was talking about 'Publicious' and said he had heard good reports. That's how I came to meet Andy McDermott. My book was in print half way through January. The spectacular cover design was an Andy McDermott masterpiece, my sketches had been redrawn to illustration quality and my photographs inserted. Because of Andy's commercial acumen, Blitz was launched in good time for the celebrations.

Andy is a professional publisher and ideal team-worker. He has my confidence and I am currently engaged with him in a second edition of Blitz.
Thanks, Andy."

John Thompson-Gray
Author of Japanese Blitz on Darwin February 19, 1942

Photograph: Author John Thompson-Gray autographs a copy of Japanese Blitz on Darwin for Shadow Minister Ms Tracy Davis MP after Ms Davis raised a toast to the book at Compton Gardens on February 7th 2012

We're proud to say that since writing this testiminial John has also published his second book, Love Luck and Larceny, with our assistance.

 



No Chocolates for Sheila by Kathleen S. O'Brien

What a relief it was to find Publicious  Publishing a first book can lead you down paths that are difficult to navigate.

 
Ring Andy and your fears dissipate.  Your enquiries are answered with warmth and reassurance.  You feel you have found a friend.  He continues with phone and email contact in a genuinely helpful way.
 
I am very pleased with the final product.  Thanks Andy.

 Kathleen S. O'Brien author of No Chocolates for Sheila 

 


 

 

Old Sins Cast Long Shadows by Frances Bodley

The thrill of having my manuscript accepted by a publishing house, meeting arranged , contract signed, cheque for part advance received [balance on publication] Publication date came and went. Then followed a twelve month battle that  ended  in a legal argument. Utter frustration. I received by publishing rights back. But I had a 'plan B'. I thought of Andy, whom I have known for many years. Once approached he took over and within a few weeks my novel at last saw the light of day. Excitement ruled. What a trouble free  way to publish. Andy explained every step to me and he kept to the deadlines he made. My description for cover design and colour so well interpreted and I am thrilled with the result. I would recommend Andy to anyone requiring independent publishing services. He not only listens to what his clients require but carries out the task promptly and with expertise. I wish him and his company every success. I hope to publish my second book with Publicious by the end of this year.

Frances Bodley Johnson author of Old Sins Cast Long Shadows

 



Author Kelly Asmus"As a first time self publisher I needed assistance with typesetting my manuscript into a format compatible for upload to Lightning Source for both a paperback version and Ebook - Epub and MOBI (Kindle) of my romantic comedy fiction novel The Friday Night Debrief.

Publicious was a suggested company on the Lightning Source website so I knew that they would be familiar with the services I required. Although a worldwide company, Andy lived within the local region and I wanted to support businesses who employed locally so I asked for a quote and was pleasantly surprised by how reasonable the services were.  In addition to providing great value, Andy always replied to any questions I had, via email or on the phone, pleasantly, helpfully and efficiently and I would not only recommend his professional services to others, I would definitely work with Andy again on future projects."

Kylie Asmus - Author of "The Friday Night Debrief"

 


 

"Although self-publishing has never been easier, I found that there were so many considerations (and possible pitfalls) I began to realise that I was going to need some help.

I began looking overseas and contacted some rather large companies who offered no phone support, had really poor customer service, and/or seemed inflexible. I then researched through reviews to further find that many customers of theirs felt let down, with portions of manuscript left out, sloppy formatting, and no communication.

When I first phoned Andy I had around a hundred questions. He was patient, encouraging and incredibly informative. The options he gave were then really clear, and I jumped in.

After committing to the whole package, I could see throughout the process, I had got very lucky indeed. I have worked in a similar industry in the past and have known outside folk to think that somehow computers these days do all the work. But really they do not - it is all about the person driving them - especially with formatting etc. - it takes hours and days of hard work and intelligent design to bring together.

Thanks to Publicious the contacts I am now working with could not have been better. The POD company are tremendously well organised and their quality is something I am proud of.

Both my e-book and print book were produced in excellent time - with attention to every detail - and, with last minute revisions! I loved the whole experience - definitely the most fun I have for years - and I would recommend Publicious to anyone who has a treasured work they wish to bring to the world in print."

Gabriel Brunsdon - www.azlander.com

 


 

Author Geoff Hodinott

"Before self-publishing Paradise Wins I researched a plethora of companies in this space. It was therefore with some trepidation that I finally selected Publicious, as this was my first book.

With the book now printed and listed on hard copy and e-book sites, I now realise that I could not have chosen a better partner than Andy.

If you are looking to publish your first book, then you will find in Publicious an open, transparent, helpful and knowledgeable resource to bring your words to a professionally presented finished product.

Thanks Andy."

Geoff Hodinott - Author of Paradise Wins

 


 

Author Lynne Schinella

 

"After 7 weeks of working with a company to get my title ready for print and uploaded to Lightning Source, I faced another 2 weeks of frustration because the format was wrong. Then I found Andy McDermott at Publicious, who rode in on his white horse, fixed the problem and uploaded my file.

Andy is patient, in my case, empathic and knows what he's doing. If I'd found him earlier, I would have been saved a lot of pain. If you're self publishing, look no further than Publicious."

Lynne Schinella author of Bite Me!


 


 

 

What Lay In The Dark

"After finally preparing my first novel for publication, I faced many weeks of sorting through different publishing companies trying to find the best one for me and my book.

Andy at Publicious was understanding and easy to work with. He was happy to respond to any questions that I had throughout the process and did so quickly. Andy helped me get my book printed and distributed in nearly no time at all. The final book looks amazing just the kind of thing you would expect from a traditional publisher.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Publicious to other authors looking to self-publish."

Casey Nash - author of What Lay In The Dark

 


 

Author S N Liem-Low

 

 

"I am indebted to you for all the time that you just listen patiently, and showed me the right way in the jungle of writing n publishing a book."

Author Francine S N Liem-Low

 

 


 

 

Seemingly Superhuman

"To anyone looking to self publish, I would say look no further than Publicious. There really is no point.

Rather than reel off a list of superlatives, I would just say that if you want the job done properly, with sympathetic support and at a competitive price, Andy is your man.

Will I be back? What do you think?"

Chris Ditzel - Author Seemingly SuperHuman

 


 

 

Something So Simple

 

"I would have no hesitation in recommending Andrew from Publicious Pty Ltd to Authors for publishing their novels as he is patient, helpful and dedicated for the entire process which is for your first novel- confusing, unfamiliar and scary.

He always answered queries and fixed problems without a second thought and was equally encouraging to me as a new writer. Will be back with my next manuscript."

Ella Thorn author of Something So Simple

 




Author Rita Dunlop"Choices, that's what my book is all about, my life choices.

I certainly made the right choice by publishing with Publicious. Andy McDermott is patient and understanding, as well as having a great sense of humour. He certainly needed that when he took on the publication of my life story. I had not done any kind of writing before and was a complete novice. Now I feel as if I can hold my head high and tell the world that I have managed to write and publish a book.

This company has to be the best in Australia. Andy is superb at what he does, he talks you through the whole mine field of self publishing giving you the confidence and direction you need. Support is just a phone call away. I had the editing service because I write as I speak, Lancashire style. Andy got me a great editor in the UK and with his direction and advice (via emails) it began to take shape.

My book is slightly different, as it was all taken from notes over many years. I would highly recommend Publicious to any person that is hesitating to publish. They give you the total support through out, at a very reasonable rate. I was pestered by many publishing companies before signing with Andy. My choice was the right one."

From a very satisfied Authoress my sincere thanks.
Rita Dunlop - Little Grandma's Choices.

 


 

Author Ursula Cillar

"I finally wrote and illustrated my first children's book and sought to get it published. I had approached a leading Australian self-publishing company to publish my book, however they could not accommodate children's books that were not print-ready, had too many pages, and did

not offer me the advert promised world-wide coverage. This prompted me to keep looking for a self-publishing company that could cater for my needs, and that is when I found Publicious. The name made me smile and I decided to give it a go. From then on, I have never looked back. What really made Publicious, and in particular the company director, Andy McDermott, stand out from others is the personal one-on-one communications and dealings with me, regarding my book's journey to become an item. Andy made me feel like someone worthy, not just another customer in the cue. I really love this friendly and professional approach.

Publicious also has very reasonable rates, which were better value for money and actually cost less than other companies I priced. Andy and his team gave me input into every aspect of my book's production with many helpful suggestions to produce an excellent finish. Without any hesitation, Andy compensated for my numerous changes of mind, which I very much appreciated.

Publicious will be seeing more books coming from my neck of the woods! I sincerely hope that Publicious becomes a stronghold for self-publishing authors like me."

Ursula Ciller, author of Crystal's Gallant Adventures - The Mountain Pass Back to Valley Flats.

 


 

Pot Luck

 

"I can thoroughly recommend Andy from Publicious for all your self-publishing needs. I found him to be most courteous and prompt in replying to all my emails, and he was very accommodating in tailoring a package to our specific needs. The finished product, Pot Luck: Stories from the Central Highlands, is a book of oral histories, poems and anecdotes compiled by the Central Highlands Writers' Group. We are extremely happy with the result."

Heather Garside www.heathergarside.com

 

 

 


 

Author Noel Guthrie

"As a client of Lightning Source Australia, from where I am printing and distributing my latest book, I ran into one or two technical difficulties during the uploading stages of my material.


Pointed in the direction of publicious.com.au, I made contact with Andy McDermott, a director in the company.  Oh, what a relief to talk to someone with the knowledge and understanding of what I was trying to do.  Like a fine surgeon, he put his finger on the sore spot at once.


One does not have to speak with Andy for long to understand he is passionate about writing and about books, and has a genuine desire to assist his fellow writers, and in my case, one in difficulty.


It was at that point I engaged Andy to sort out those few technicalities, he even submitted my material into the Lightning Source system.  Also he offered other valuable advice.

I could never speak highly enough of Publicious, in particular Andy McDermott, nothing was a bother; he just went about his task in an efficient and pleasant manner. In a few days my problem was solved.


For those writers out there, wanting to publish their own material, take a tip from me, and contact Andy McDermott at Publicious, a real sincere person who offers advice without ceremony. 
I for one will certainly be using his vast knowledge and experience in the future."

Noel Guthrie - Love, Lies, Laugther - New Zealand

To date Noel has published 2 books with the assistance of Publicious


 

Sink or Swim"I figured the quickest way to get a publishing deal was to self publish. If the book was worthy someone might see it. It was just through trolling the net I discovered Publicious. How lucky was I! Andy and the team made the whole procedure seamless and therefore, free of stress. After dealing with bums most of my life, the ones who over promise and under deliver, it was a pleasure to be in the hands of the professionals at Publicious. Publishing your baby should be a continuation of the writing experience, joyful and rewarding. Publicious made it so.

Thanks again Andy."

Owen Ravenscroft author of Sink or Swim

 


 

TIRI"I wish to express my gratitude for the excellent job you did for my book "TIRI", because I know that when I sent you the picture of the cover from Brazil, through the Internet, it arrived blurred and distorted. I am very grateful to you for all the hard work you did to restore the pictures and the background, to recreate the spine, and to make the synopsis legible.


I am very happy with the job you did for me Mr. McDermott, and I hope to deal with you again in the near future."

Marisa Fenderl - Author of TIRI - Brazil

 


 

Author Kate-Lyn Therkelsen

 

"I want to take this opportunity to thank you so much for your help with this project. This is such an exciting milestone in my life, and I was venturing into such unknown territory with self publishing, but you were so helpful to me and my first self publishing experience has been such an enjoyable one because of you!"

Kate-Lyn Therkelsen - Author of The Wilted Rose

 


 



 

Author Diana Hockly

"Having published my first novel, THE NAKED ROOM, successfully with Publicious, I wanted to work with Andy McDermott on my second, THE CELIBATE MOUSE.

We went through the process again, and got it onto the market, looking superbly professional, as well as eerie and scary, and for that I thank Andy so much. My shilly-shallying over the cover and Andy's patience turned out what I regard as the most exciting mystery/crime cover currently on the market.

Andy does not only produce and set up the distribution network for his client's novels. He takes our books with him when he attends festivals and speaking events, thereby marketing our work along with his company. That is real support!

I am currently writing my third Susan Prescott novel, AFTER ARIEL, and shall be returning to ask him to put up with me, yet again."

Diana Hockley - Author of The Celibate Mouse

To date Diana has published 3 books with Publicious


 

John Draydon and the Pendragon Quest

 

"I came across Publicious after trolling the internet for self publishers. Many varied in price from the ridiculous to the "too cheap". After contacting Publicious by email Andy contacted me straight away. His service from the start was fantastic and non-pressured, unlike other companies. He as been there all along the way and as helped me with any question I have asked. I would highly recommend Andy and Publicious and hold them in high regard."

Michael Quilty-Maguire - Author of John Draydon and the Pendragon Quest

 

 


 

Red Sky at Night

 

 

"I liken publishing a novel to undertaking a degree in project management. It's a tough, complex gig. And without Andy's patience, expert guidance and advice the end product would not have turned out as fantastic as it did. Many, many, thanks Andy."

Martin Quadroy, author of RED SKY NIGHT.

 

 

 


 

 

Author Adrian Hekel"As a first time author I had no idea who to turn to?I feared spending months of uncertainty on the commercial treadmill and I also feared losing control of the publishing process.


Then I stumbled across Publicious, and was immediately impressed by Andy's helpfulness and honesty. Communication was prompt, clear and professional, and I was very grateful for his willingness to help me 'fine tune' changes to the book, right up to the very last minute. 

I am delighted to now have a finished product which gets people's attention, and which I am confident to share with a wide audience. Thank you, Publicious, for a job well done."

Adrian Hekel - Author of The Heart Of The World

 


 

Dr Robert Stephens

 

'Writing a book is the easy part and once finished what do you do with it? Well it was by chance that I met Andy and I can say that from the start it was a reassuring experience.

Andy has helped very sincerely and honestly with getting my book printed and given me the opportunity to go further with launching my book. It has been a pleasure to have Andy working with me and I wish Publicious the best.

Dr Robert Stephens - Author Of The Stock Market Explained

 


 

The Pain of Reason

"I thoroughly enjoyed working with Andy McDermott, Director of Publicious, Self Publishing Services. Although I am located nearly 8,200 miles from Queensland, Australia in the United States, the service and professionalism more than surpassed my expectations.

I own the copyright of an obscure and provocative book that was published with Publicious. For those seeking the services of a Self Publisher please note - nothing interferes with Andy's commitment to excellence regardless of the genre or tone of the work.

Publicious has truly set the standard that every publisher of any type should be
judged by."

Dr J Williams - USA - The Pain Of Reason

 


 

Author Diana Hockley with author and director of Publicious Andy McDermott

"When I met Andy McDermott  at the Brisbane Writer's Festival and examined the books which he has produced, I was confident that I could trust him with my most precious intellectual possession, my novel.

Since then Andy has accompanied and supported me in every way possible on the journey to publication, remaining calm amid an onslaught of pathetic, needy writer-emails. Being an author himself, he has perfect understanding of the paranoia which besets us. I can highly recommend Publicious to any author wishing to go the self-publishing route and indeed, have already done so."

Diana Hockley Author of The Naked Room. 2010

 



Author Jill Smith with author and director of Publicious Andy McDermott"I was totally thrilled to see the finished book.

Dual Visions has become the book I dreamed of presenting to the world. The cover is excellent, with the Southern Cross visible in daylight but part obscured in the dark. The index, bio, Davidson family tree and back cover blurbs by fellow writers and editors, all together making it a professional production.

I will be more than happy to have further work of mine published through the aid of Publicious!"

Author Jill Smith - Author of Dual Visions

 


 

Poet Caroline Glen

"I wanted the availability of primarily my Dingo poem, with other nature poems, to be read and sold overseas as well as locally. I read Publicious had the technology for both, so I approached them and they agreed to help me.

It is not an easy task to format poetry, but I must say Andy did a wonderful and speedy job. He was always optimistic, patient and his manner of communication was always from the heart as well as the head. He chose a beautiful picture of a dingo for the cover. Now the latest of my six poetry books, for the first time is retailing overseas. This is very important to me, and I thank Andy and Publicious for making this happen."

Caroline Glen Poetry Editor, Fellowship of Australian Writers Queensland (FAWQ)

 


 

Author John Litchen

"I've had books printed before, but this time holding 'and the waters prevailed' my excitement was profound, because for the very first time I held a TPB that looked and felt as good as any TPB from a major publisher that we see on bookshop shelves.

Here from Publicious was printing indistinguishable from anything produced by the big publishers. Here at last was a book I could be proud of, a TPB that could compete on an equal basis with any other TPB in any bookshop anywhere.

When considering your next publishing project, consider Publicious from design right through to the final printing you will get a surprisingly good very professional result and at a very competitive price."

Author John Litchen

 



Author Terry Spring

 

"At last an approachable company who listen! Publicious delivered on all my requirements. Great customer service, on time and at a price I could afford.

This company has turned my manuscript into a professional looking book with an eye-catching  cover. I would recommend this company to anyone who is thinking of self-publishing."

Terry Spring - Author of Transported - The Tambo Girl and co author of Lucky Me

To date Terry has published 3 books with Publicious


 


 

The Left Hand of Power

"I would like to thank Publicious for helping to turn my novel The Left Hand Of Power into an ebook success! With Andy's knowledge of the industry, courteous manner and dedication to getting the job done right, it was a seamless and rewarding experience.

I would strongly recommend to anyone who is seeking to see their literary vision realised in a professional environment to contact publicious -- I know I will again."

Brenden Kluver - Author of The Left Hand Of Power

 

 

 


 

Coming Home

 

"I would like to thank Andy at Publicious for all your help, as I am an elderly woman with not much in the way of sophisticated computer know-how. Having written a novella, and got nowhere with mainstream publishers, I turned to self-publishing. I chose Publicious because they gave me the most initial information.

The help I received from Andy during the whole process was friendly and helpful, even when I made computer mistakes. I sincerely thank him for his understanding."

Author June Beavan

 


 

Palmistry Power by Anna Comerford

 

Thank God for Andy and Publicious. Andy helped me through this publishing maze and I came out the other end in one piece with a beautiful book to show, and teach with.

I am glad I followed my gut instinct in choosing Publicious. Gratefully, Anna

Anna Comerford author Palmistry Power

 

 

 


 

Rise of the Pheonix The Begining by Mikala Potts

 

Getting my first book published was difficult as I had no idea where to go and who to turn to. So I started looking on the internet on how I could get published as this was a goal I wanted to complete. When I came across Publicious and Andy, I found it so great as I could send an email asking questions with concerns that I had. Andy and the team were able to put me on the right track and was able to meet the needs that I had and the visions for my book. I would highly recommend Publicious to all those who wants to publish.

Mikala Potts author of Rise of the Pheonix - the Beginning

 

 


 

 

 

 

More testimonials coming soon.

 

Read Our Testimonials

I am very grateful and honoured to have found Publicious. As a first time author, there was SO MUCH to learn, figure out and understand. I know that without the help and support of the Publicious team, I would not have achieved my dream. I contacted a few places last year regarding publishing, but I connected only with Andy, and that's why I chose to engage his services. It turned out to be an exceptional choice, pat myself on the back for that :-)

Dr Hisham Abdalla,
#1 international Bestselling Author of 4D Leadership

I asked media personality Ray Weeks about 'Publico'. He thought I was talking about 'Publicious' and said he had heard good reports. That's how I came to meet Andy McDermott. The spectacular cover design was a Publicious masterpiece, my sketches had been redrawn to illustration quality and my photographs inserted. Blitz was launched in good time for the February 19th 2012 Bombing of Darwin Day celebrations.

John Thompson-Gray
Author of Japanese Blitz on Darwin and Love Luck and Larceny

Read Testimonials

Latest Blog

Read all button

SELF-PUBLISH TO SHARE YOUR CULTURE, HERITAGE AND STORY WITH GENERATIONS TO COME

Jan 20 2017
For a great many years, the sharing of stories, mythology, fables and legends has helped to create and maintain the unique cultures all over the world.  Over time, these stories have been p...

Book Marketing

Jan 03 2017
Savvy self-published authors understand that publishing their book is just the start of their journey. Most authors have written and published their book with the intent of it being read. They u...

TURN 'ASPIRING AUTHOR' INTO 'PUBLISHED AUTHOR' IN 2017

Dec 14 2016
At this time of year, many of us take the opportunity to look back over the year that has passed, and take account of what we feel we achieved in the various sectors of our lives.  A bit of...
Bookmark siteTell a friendPrintContact usHome